Kokoda 75th Anniversary 20172017 marks the 75th Anniversary of the Kokoda Campaign.Kokoda Track Authority Licensed Operator Back Track Adventures
Back Track trekkers are everyday Australians, just like you, just like us. Trekkers join us for a variety of reasons; some seeking an understanding of the Kokoda campaign; others honouring family who fought in wartime PNG; some are seeking an exhilarating physical and mental challenge; while others are striving to achieve a personal goal.

Whatever your reason, trekking Kokoda is a powerful experience awaiting you. Back Track’s sensible 11 day itinerary is the best itinerary to fully appreciate the Kokoda Experience. It includes a 9 day/8 night trek over the exact war time Kokoda Track. All major battle sites and important attractions visited. All treks escorted by professional Australian Guides with experienced, PNG support crew. Our professional approach to trekking was developed over our 30 years specialising in treks to remote and exotic locations worldwide. Join us for your Kokoda adventure today!

Kokoda Track Trekking Costs

From Port Moresby, trek only

$3,945

Aussie Trek Leader
11 day Itinerary
9 day Trek
PNG internal flight
Land-only package
Scroll down for Dates
Trek Inclusions >
Why Back Track >

Book you Kokoda Track trek now

From Cairns

$4645*

Aussie Trek Leader
PNG internal flight
International flight
Scroll down for Dates
Trek Inclusions >
Why Back Track >

Book you Kokoda Track trek now

From Brisbane

$4745*

Aussie Trek Leader
PNG internal flight
International flight
Scroll down for Dates
Trek Inclusions >
Why Back Track >

Book you Kokoda Track trek now

From Sydney

$4995*

Aussie Trek Leader
PNG internal flight
International flight
Scroll down for Dates
Trek Inclusions >
Why Back Track >

Book you Kokoda Track trek now

 Kokoda Track Trekking Dates for 2017

*Please note: Scroll down for notes about costs and budgetting. An additional $150 applies to Anzac Day trek Teams (1 to 6). Find out more about trekking the Kokoda Track for Anzac Day 2017 here.

Team
Depart Australia Return Australia Trek itinerary
Trek Direction
Days x-Aus
Trek Days
Availability
Team Leader
1
Sun 16 April Thur 27 April Anzac Day Trek
Anzac Day Irobaiwa
N–S
12
10
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Martin W
2
Sun 16 April Thur 27 April Anzac Day Trek
Anzac Day Irobaiwa
N–S
12
10
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Gareth
3
Tue 18 April Fri 28 April Anzac Day Trek
Anzac Day Brigade Hill 
N–S
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Matt
4
Tue 18 April Fri 28 April Anzac Day Trek
Anzac Day Brigade Hill. 
N–S
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Tony
5*
Wed 19 April Sun 30 April Anzac Day Trek
Anzac Day Brigade Hill
S–N
12
10
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Kathy
5a*
Wed 19 April Sun 30 April Anzac Day Trek
Anzac Day Brigade Hill
S–N
12
10
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Dan
6*
Wed 19 April Sun 30 April Anzac Day Trek
Anzac Day Brigade Hill
S–N
12
10
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Jim
Team
Depart Australia Return Australia Trek itinerary
Trek Direction
Days x-Aus
Trek Days
Availability
Team Leader
PVT
Mon 1 May Thur 11 May Campaign Trek
N-S
11
9
Kokode Track trekking Private Group Sharlene
8
Mon 22 May Thur 01 June Campaign Trek
State of Origin event
N-S
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Jason
9
Mon 29 May Fri 9 June Campaign Trek
S-N
12
9
Kokode Track trekking Private Group Dan Tones
PVT
Mon 12 June Thur 22 June Campaign Trek
State of Origin event
N–S
11
9
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Deanne
10
Mon 19 June Thur 29 June Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now
Michelle
11
Mon 26 June Thur 06 July Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked Sarah
12
Mon 03 July Thur 13 July Campaign Trek
State of Origin event
N–S
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now
John Shea
PVT
Mon 10 July Thur 20 July Campaign Trek
N-S
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Jim
13
Mon 10 July Thur 20 July Campaign Trek
S-N
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now
Ray
14
Mon 17 July Thur 27 July Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now
Damian S
15
Mon 31 July Thur 10 Aug Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Damo C
16 Mon 21 Aug Thur 31 Aug Campaign Trek
N-S
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now
Gareth
PVT Mon 28 Aug Thur 7 Sept Campaign Trek
N-S
11
9
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Martin
McIver
PVT Mon 28 Aug Thur 7 Sept Campaign Trek
N-S
11
9
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Damian C
PVT Mon 28 Aug Thur 7 Sept Campaign Trek
S-N
11
9
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
Martin Webster
17
Mon 04 Sept Thur 14 Sept Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Jim
18
Mon 11 Sept Thur 21 Sept Campaign Trek
N-S
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now
Gareth
19
Mon 18 Sept Thur 28 Sept Campaign Trek
S-N
11
9
This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked
Jim
20
Mon 25 Sept Thur 05 Oct Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now Carla
PVT
Mon 02 Oct Thur 12 Oct Campaign Trek
S-N
11
9
 Kokode Track trekking Private Group Gareth
21
Mon 02 Oct Thur 12 Oct Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9

This Kokoda Track trek is fully booked

TBA
22
Mon 30 Oct Thur 09 Nov Campaign Trek
S-N
11
9
Book you Kokoda Track trek now
Gareth
PVT
Mon 06 Nov Thur 16 Nov Campaign Trek
N–S
11
9
Kokode Track trekking Private Group
John S

IMPORTANT: Notes about Costs and Budgeting

  • HOTEL SINGLE SUPPLEMENT: Hotel costs are per person, twin share, for 2 nights accommodation in Port Moresby at the Lamana Hotel. If you are travelling on your own you might be required to pay the single occupancy rate for the hotel. If requested, we will endeavour to find another single traveller of the same sex to share. Additional cost for 2 nights is $350. On the trek, each trekker has a twin person tent for their solo use. You do not share a tent on the trek unless you request same.
  • PERSONAL PORTER: Would you like the assistance of a Personal Porter on the Track? For $640 you can hire the services of a Personal Porter who will carry all your gear in a backpack provided by us free of charge. By hiring a porter, you are providing employment for local workers and their families.
  • TREK & AIRFARE PACKAGES: Join us from Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth, Hobart or Darwin. There are no direct flights to Port Moresby from these cities. Trekkers will need to fly to Brisbane, Sydney or Cairns and take advantage of our trek and flight packages from these centres exclusive to Back Track trekkers.
  • BUDGETING: There are no hidden costs. Read our budgeting tips here.
  • TERMS and CONDITIONS: All prices are in Australian dollars and inclusive of GST. We are not expecting any price rises from suppliers, however, we reserve the right to increase costs as per our Booking Terms and Conditions, if suppliers increase costs to us.

Cultural Guidelines

All Kokoda trekking companies have been asked to abide by new cultural guidelines established by the Kokoda Track Landowners and Village and Clan Chiefs:

“All trekkers are requested to pause trekking wherever they are located, from sunset on Friday until sunset on Saturday in respect of the Seventh Day Adventist Sabbath.”

Back Track respects these new guidelines and we have always adhered to a sensible itinerary, allowing two half days in the middle section of the trek as a balance between strenuous activity and adequate recuperation. Now, by combining these two half days, we have modified our itinerary to arrive at our home village of Naduri for the start of the Sabbath. Our trekkers will be able to rest and recuperate and our crew can spend the Sabbath with their families. This will be a unique opportunity to experience real village life. We believe this will become a cultural highlight of the trek experience.

Read more about the local people of PNG and courtesy/cultural expectations – here.